Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

There are those who support the death penalty as pertinent for criminals who commit violent crime, while others believe it to be intolerable in modern-day society. In my opinion, although the death penalty is perhaps the ultimate deterrent to recurring crime, there are more drawbacks than benefits. The main advantage for keeping the death penalty is that it deters violent crime. It is justified as life for a life, and fair punishment for heinous crimes like first-degree murder, genocide or the abuse of minors. For victim’s families, it provides restitution since murderers on death row cannot recommit violent crimes. For the state, it provides an attractive alternative to life in prison due to the costs that can be saved. For example, America has one of the highest prison populations in the world and those locked away for life cost the most to maintain in jail. However, I believe that the drawbacks of capital punishment outweigh the benefits. For one thing, the absolute nature of capital punishment means there is no going back if innocent people are condemned. Once someone is gone, they are gone and there is no reprieve if a person is wrongly convicted. Furthermore, there is little if any research to show that the death penalty reduces crime. Research shows that states in America without the death penalty have lower murder rates than the states that have it. Finally, of felons who are sentenced to death, few actually receive it. Death penalties can take decades to enact in some cases, costing the tax payer as much as placing the concerned individual in prison for life. To reiterate, the death penalty seems an impractical and expensive option for modern society with likely better options available to manage crime.