Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, people across the globe are able to purchase similar products anywhere in the world and this is making the countries more and more likewise. In my opinion, this is a negative development for the country because it reduces the cultural values and economic growth. Firstly, one of the negative trends is that it undermines cultural diversity. When countries have unique products that are not found anywhere else, it showcases their distinctiveness and fosters pride among the locals. However, with the easy availability of the same products everywhere, these unique items may cease to exist or become less valuable. Also, the availability of similar products in every corner of the world reduces the business value of all the countries for the reason that it reduces the export and import of their own goods. For instance, In the past, traditional craftsmanship of handmade textiles in remote villages was so valued but with the increase of machine-made clothes the demand for the traditional handmade ones diminished. Another problem with this development is that it can lead to a rise in environmental damage. When the same products are available everywhere, they are often produced in huge quantities to meet global demand. This can result in more environmental degradation due to increased manufacturing, transportation, and waste. One example is the demand for bottles worldwide, manufacturers produce billions of plastic bottles annually to meet global needs. This mass production is leading to the depletion of natural resources. To sum up, I believe that there is a greater negative impact on the country if there is the availability of the same product everywhere in the world. It can have detrimental effects on the environment and cultural values.