Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries, but its disadvantages shouldn’t be overlooked. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, many countries rely heavily on tourism as a primary source of their income, however, its drawbacks ought not to be underestimated. I am firmly convinced that tourism can cause an imlicit threat to tourist attractions and their environment as well as economic vulnerability to it. The main reason why I believe that tourism pose numerous problems is that ahuge influx of tourists leads to the pollution. This is because tourists travel by air, road and rail which are the main sources of gas emissions. Not only is air polluted due to the excessive use of transports, but tourists also litter exotic places and throw disposable wastes. As a result, the beauty of profit-generating tourist attractions can be depleted. A primary example of this is Bali, which is considered to be the most popular and polluted tourist attraction. Another crucial factor of taking into consideration downsides of tourism is economic dependence on it. It is highly likely that other forms of income-generation are neglected because of allocating the budget on flourishing tourism. However, if there is seasonal fluctuation in the number of tourists or if some areas are deserted because of climate variables, the country will be vulnerable to economic ruin in the long run. For instance, had the tourist destination called Sri Lanka not had monsoon from May to September, the amount of visitors would not have declined as well as the economy would have been stable. In conclusion, numerous countries are dependent on tourism because of its revenue but tourism can represent a threat to tourist destinations and their environment, also, the economy of countries can be put at risk. Therefore, it is advisable not to undervalue the disadvantages of tourism.