Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The arts represent an important cultural facet of the country and community, and as such I strongly believe that time-tested forms of art should be subsidized and conserved. However, as far as modern art is concerned, it should be an exception because it is the very competition modern artists get involved in that will stimulate the arts industry, especially encouraging the would-be artists to create artworks that are highly original. First, people should be given the opportunity to appreciate classic forms of art and come to understand what constitutes its originality, beauty, and sublimity. This kind of promotion strategy will have a significant implication for people's understanding of the arts because the artists who created them typically do not exist any longer, let alone their patrons. The government should play a key role in educating people on artworks, encouraging them to become more interested, whilst preserving and maintaining artworks as well as galleries and museums that accommodate them. Having said that, our budget is not limitless. No one would pay a penny for my doodles, and the same is true of the government. Art students today have a lot of options to let the world know about their work. Social media and blogs are two of many options. As more people enter the competition (be it online or not), the arts industry will be a more active, energetic, intriguing, and mature place that will always surprises and entertains you. In this situation, talented artists could be picked up through the market mechanism, and some of them might gain patronage. In conclusion, I believe that the government should do its best to help conserve time-tested valuable artworks, but newcomers should vie hard to make themselves known to the world.