Some people believe that online libraries are more beneficial than physical libraries. To What extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A section of society thinks that instead of physical outlets of libraries, online libraries are far better. This essay disagrees with the given suggestion because online libraries can impact learning in many negative ways, which will be explained further in this essay. It is clear that when people will prefer online libraries to physical ones, the chances of distraction will be quite higher. To say it, while reading online, the internet can lure people towards various other things such as video games and movies, thus readers will lose their focus on the actual task. For example, a survey conducted by Oxford University in 2017 in the UK found that 84% of people explained their experience after reading online led to various distractions and they did not enjoy the pleasure of reading online. Moreover, online reading requires a person to invest time on screen for long durations which can be detrimental to readers ' health. In other words, sitting for a longer duration and spending a large amount of time browsing the internet or reading on the screen can lead to issues like fatigue or eye strain. For instance, a news report published by the New York Times stated that 68% of readers who use screens for reading in the USA have more eye and back problems. In conclusion, preferring online libraries instead of physical libraries leads to various issues for readers related to health as well as not providing the real-life experience of reading because of the presence of various distractions online. Hence, decisions like this should not be encouraged.