Some feel that it is impossible for a country to be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time. Others disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two points of view on the possibility of being both economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time. A number of people often argue that it is impossible for a country to be in both conditions, while some believe that it is still feasible. In my point of view, I strongly think that being both economically strong and environmentally friendly is a utopia. First of all, to be economically adequate, a country has to encourage their citizens to make purchases. In order to do so, the people need to have an occupation and a regular paycheck, making an opportunity to work a necessity. As a response to this, the country would need to establish more industries, leading to more pollutants being created. For instance, almost all industrial waste is contaminated with carbon monoxide which is harmful to the environment. This waste is usually being discharged into rivers which can spread to humans through the water or the animals living there. As an example, the pollutant can contaminate the fish in the river and when the fish is caught and eaten by humans, they will be contaminated as well. Second of all, it is expensive to be environmentally friendly. The government need to pay more cost to make an industry that is sustainable. Not to mention that it also requires certain expertise to design and implement the end-to-end eco-friendly workplace. These initiatives can hinder the country's objective which is to be economically strong. As an example, to be environmentally sustainable, the government need to hire both environmental expert and architect to establish an industry. As opposed, it only requires an architect if the government do not consider the sustainability, making the cost to be a lot cheaper and more affordable. To sum up, although there are some initiatives a country can take to be both economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time, it is extremely challenging and almost impossible to do so. I believe that a country needs to choose one focus only, either the economy or the environmental aspect.