Young people are often influenced in their behaviours by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Youngsters normally have similar behaviours as peers of their age. Advocates are of the opinion that the influence of the same group is vital whereas proponents assume it has unique drawbacks. I strongly vote for disadvantages due to the negative impact of this group on young people and the elimination of youngsters’ identities. Firstly, peer pressure on the young generation might have negative effects. In other words, young people may force each other to have the same behaviours such as smoking cigarettes which exacerbate their personality. Moreover, they might try to do some illegal activities which completely destroy their life. Secondly, the young nation will lose their true identity under the pressure of their peer. To clarify, youngster have their personality which is unique but when they are under pressure they will lose their passion for life and try to do the exact activities like as other people in their age. For instance, Iranian young people who are really talented in music prefer to follow other young generations around the world because they are under pressure. Also, the advantages of this notion are irrefutable that will explain. Some proponents assume that the effect of this group of people can increase their tendency in order to build better lives for themselves, not only they can be really helpful to each other, but also they influence each other to take action in some cases. However this they just overlooked and they did not pay attention to the negative pressure of this group of people on each other. In conclusion, genially youngers are influenced by their peer in their behaviours. Some proponents have this assumption that this effect is important for their lives while others believe that it may have a negative impact on them. I firmly hold the view that the disadvantages of this notion outweigh the advantages.