People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasing early stage. Discuss the causes and some effects of the widespread drug use by young people. Give some recommendations that can be implemented.

A generation ago, drugs were not as common as nowadays. However, in many parts of the world, there has been a sharp rise in the number of young people who are addicted to narcotics. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. One of the main causes of the problem is that youth exuberance in groups which means they are under peer pressure and self-esteem issues. This means, that they want to create an example in their group as a leader or want to be cool in front of everyone. According to an American survey, 80% of teenagers are addicted to drugs under peer pressure, low self-esteem issues, and the fear of rejection by their mates. The solution for this situation is to show them the side effects of overdose. To exemplify, the school arranged a day visit to the drug rehabilitation centre to show them the results of addiction to these substances. Moreover, the easy accessibility of these medicines is also a significant cause of this scenario. To explain further, nowadays, a large number of medicines such as painkillers are bought by teenagers. To illustrate my point: IM analgesics like tramadol and paracetamol can be bought easily from any of the drug stores. To tackle this issue, there should be a change in the system of purchasing medicines which means someone can not purchase any injections or tablets without the prescription of a doctor. Apart from that, there should be regular inspections of the stores to verify any illegal activities happening in the stores such as selling the injections without written notice by a doctor. To conclude, the use of narcotics has been rising in the last decade, due to several reasons such as youth exuberance, easy-to-reach pills etc. This is a serious concern, and the government and society both should put their foot together to tackle this issue by educating their kids in advance, plus, these substances should not be sold to teenagers by businessmen. At last, I would say that the government should eradicate illegal substances from all over the world.