Some people think that the government should provide free and universal health care for all citizens. Others think that health care is a personal responsibility and people should pay for their own medical expenses. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that health care facilities should be free for the public, while others claim that, one should pay his own bills as it is their own responsibility. In my opinion, higher authorities should provide free healthcare to all the citizens, because this will eliminate the discrimination between the elite and the lower classes. The explanation, the later people give is, that the governments should spend more on the economic sector rather than on healthcare, as economic growth is extremely essential for the country. On the one hand, people think that by providing free health care, lawmakers can help in the eradication of the class factor of the society. As, those who belong to the elite class can easily afford medical treatment, even for rare diseases, while, the poor class cannot afford expensive treatment and they feel helpless. Moreover, most of the poor public suffer from certain deadly conditions because they even lack the basic nutrition needed to build strong immunity against diseases. For instance, a study was conducted in Pakistan in the year 2012, in which the mortality rates of the people who were affected by fungal infection were compared, and the results showed equal mortality among the poor and the elite classes in certain regions, where the treatment was free and saw more deaths of poor people in the private hospitals. On the other hand, some people think that the governments should spend more on the economic sector as compared to health care, because economic growth is vital for the whole country and this can help people in lowering the cost of medical treatments, as well as this can provide them with the financial stability and they can afford whatever treatment they need. To illustrate, the UK government has spent more resources on the development of their economy and now most of the public has good jobs and are well paid, so they can afford their medical bills without any support. To conclude, both views have their advantages, however, I personally believe that healthcare facilities should be neutral and free of cost for the nationals, because being medically fit or disease-free is the basic right of every individual in the state.