It is wrongly believed that films only corrupt us but the fact is that they can also educate us. Do you agree or disagree?

There are many who assume that movies only create a negative impact on their audience. I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will present the reasons why I differ and argue the notion that in fact, movies can be highly educational. The first primary reason why I believe that a movie can be educational is because of the morals they may present. Good movies for example will have excellent storytelling with valuable messages for their audience to learn. Even critical films with violence or harm such as the 2019 released 'Joker', portray pressing social issues that need questioning. A mature film requires a mature audience to understand it. This is why movies are often rated so that the audience knows which age group can correctly identify with the movies ' themes and as a result, prevent any minds from being wrongfully influenced. The fact that cinemas are essentially a form of storytelling is another reason why I believe they are educational. Whether the characters were written in a book or filmed in a visual medium- the purpose in either of the cases is to ultimately tell a story. In my opinion, movies are much easier to understand and quicker to finish in comparison to a book. To illustrate, my teacher showed our religious studies class "Minority Report' in school to understand complex subjects like free will and destiny. Thus, cinematic visuals certainly help the brain to capture emotions or concepts more easily than others. To conclude, although it may be easy to see how movies may have the power to wrongly influence their audience; I think they are the best source of education if utilized correctly. Rather than scrutinizing this wonderful art form, I think it will be better to criticize the actions of the public instead.