In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements are now used as a solid tool for marketing to excel in the cut-throat competition in today's world. They are trying to create something new or alter the formula or design to make their products more appealing and attractive to their consumers. In my viewpoint, I agree that this has more negative impacts than positives. First of all, there are various plausible reasons behind this issue. Business is all about attracting their customers to elevate their income. In order to do that, they always come up with the latest creations or modifying their old ones, which is not always a significant one. For example, Apple produces a new design of phone every year at a high price demanding that every year there are some exclusive features included that their competitors do not have. However, in reality, there are a few changes in the design and style or maybe in features but the advertising catches the people to buy the latest one. Moreover, toiletries such as soap, shampoo or perfume advertisement try to showcase something new in their ingredients, which their competitors do not have, to make the customers purchase that product. There are nevertheless some drawbacks to this which I will discuss now. Firstly, If a product has been on the market for quite a few time and is popular among people, changing the style or ingredients might drop the quality which can cause a reduction in sales. For instance, Fair and Lovely cream was admired among young girls and ladies but when the ingredients changed with the new packaging, people started to avoid buying it as it was causing skin problems for some people. Furthermore, when the advertisement depicts that the product will work for many things and people buy it and it does not work, people can not trust that product or anything similar to that. To conclude, advertising is an interesting medium to reach and connect with the customer and inform them about the products but businesses should provide true information so that they can keep their old customers and attract the new ones to trust them.