Essay topics: more and more measures to improve the security in the urban area have been introduced because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of the measures outweigh the drawbacks ?

The government has implemented several initiatives to improve the security in the urban areas due to the increased crime. Each initiative comes with its own advantages and disadvantages. This essay will list the benefits and discuss if they outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, some of the measures implemented by the government to secure the urban area are establishing fingerprints in offices to walk in or walk out of each room, enabling two-step authentication systems in buildings, and implementing more secured electronic ID cards. These programs are beneficial for the people. First, society is more aware of the importance of personal information, discouraging them from giving it to strangers easily. For instance, people are now always being reminded to not give important information during any formal communication. Second, these measures have triggered an improvement in the study of risk and security. As an example, in order for the government to provide a good initiative, they need to have sufficient domain knowledge. Hence, it supports more funding in universities to research in those areas. However, not all initiatives are fail-proof. Some of them create another drawback to society. The more secure an area is, the more advanced the crime will be. As the government improve their security measures, folks who commit crime also improve their method. As an example, previously they scam people in a very simple way such as lying through phone calls. Nowadays, people do the scam via electronic email, claiming to be an authentic email and making people send money in a believing way. In conclusion, I still believe that all these measures bring more benefit to people compared to their drawbacks, encouraging the government to continue their efforts.