In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions vary on the benefits of driverless vehicles. Despite the fact that there are drawbacks to autonomous driving, I believe that it brings much more benefits. There are two main reasons to believe that driverless cars will cause serious social problems. Firstly, this could lead to a high percentage of unemployment as millions of bus and truck drivers will be replaced by artificial intelligence and they will lose their jobs. If these workers are not reskilled and cannot find new jobs, the crime rate will rise since they need to pay for everyday living costs. Secondly, there is a high likelihood that other industries like banking and commerce industries may replicate the practice of automation, making many jobs obsolete. This will further exacerbate inequality and social unrest as the standard of living of the poor and middle class decreases dramatically. However, there are three main benefits of self-driving cars. Road safety will increase as it is undeniable that road accidents are mainly caused by drunk driving, reckless driving, and violation of traffic rules. For instance, it is reported in newspapers that speeding is one of the leading causes of fatal car accidents in many countries. Besides, transportation costs could be lower as autonomous vehicles can be mass-produced which results in economies of scale and there is no need to pay for drivers’ high salaries. Transportation can also be more convenient as people can take a driverless on-demand ride for shorter trips. In conclusion, in my opinion, the advantages of self-driving cars are more than that of the disadvantages.