More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, car and other items. Why is this trend? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Branded items have a tremendous impact on people's lives and most individuals nowadays prefer to buy items from branded shops. I believe that it is true with various pros and cons which I will elucidate in further fragments of the essay. On one hand, brands provide a great quality product which can be used for a long time. To explain it further, branded items are mostly made from a good material which provides a great standard, so the individual doesn't need to buy items again and again because of good quality. Moreover, Items from brands is a kind of investment in which individual have to spend money only once which is also beneficial economically. For instance, Near about 3 years ago I bought a laptop from the Apple store which is in great condition till now and also works very smoothly. Hence, branded items can be advantageous for development. On the other hand, it is undeniable that small shops surely get affected by big brands. People mostly run towards a brand and do not give a chance to small businesses and shops which will not only affect financially but mentally also. To elaborate it, a mostly self-employed person put their heart and soul into their business however, due to great marketing from big brands people doesn't think about local shops. Along with, this it is also difficult for some low-income individuals to splurge in buying products from brands as it may have a huge impact on their budget. To cite an example, a survey was conducted in the USA in 2022 it revealed that most individuals are affected by a trend of purchasing things from brands. As a result, it's a disadvantage for many people and it also affects development negatively. To conclude, it is true that branded items are affected positively but their negative effect cannot be unseen and in my, opinion it is bad for development.