In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There are many countries that claim children can make achievements as long as they put enough effort into those tasks. In my opinion, this statement brings both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, encouraging children to gain things by their own hands can cultivate their positive attitude. That is to say, youth may not give up easily when they are facing difficulties. Meanwhile, this belief will enhance their capability to withstand stress so that they can better adapt to the future working environment. For instance, when a person has a positive mindset from an early age, he/she will be able to overcome challenges with an optimistic view when facing troubles at work or in life. In addition, youngsters who believe that hard work will lead to results are more likely to show perseverance in the pursuit of their goals. On the other hand, juveniles who frequently hear this kind of encouragement may be at risk for mental illness and low self-esteem. To make it clear, if adolescents do not achieve the expected results despite their best efforts, they may feel extremely frustrated and lost. As a result, they may develop self-doubt and lose confidence in themselves. For example, suppose a child has been working hard to prepare for a math competition and despite all his efforts, he couldn't get a good grade, this may lead him to doubt his abilities and worth. Besides, success is influenced by many factors, including not only hard work but also talent and external conditions. Kids who are always encouraged to work very hard to get results will be under tremendous pressure. To sum up, I believe that although educating students to put many endeavours into getting things they want may enhance their positive viewpoints and will, it could also bring many drawbacks such as harming their mental status and causing stress.