Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Why do people want to do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, a high percentage of individuals who suffer some illnesses prefer using traditional medicines rather than going to the doctor. In my opinion, people rely on traditional medicines for their safety and affordability, nevertheless, such medicines can be risky. Firstly, the main reason why people prefer to use alternative medicines is that they are not dangerous. In other words, they believe that relying on the same kind of treatments that have been used by their family for many years is safer and can be trusted. Moreover, most of these medicines are made from herbal plants, so there are no side effects that can cause health issues. For example, in China, people often drink a special green plant called Rayda if they get stomach pain because,in their view, it is really helpful to drink it more than taking unknown medicines. Another reason is that these medicines are much cheaper than going to the clinic. That is to say, most traditional medicines can be found easily in everyone's house. Take ginger for instance, it is one of the ingredients that is used mostly for cooking. People who suffer from cough usually drink ginger tea to reduce their coughing, and it is a very cheap treatment. However, if people go to a clinic to get the medication, it can be costly. Therefore, for people who have financial issues, traditional medicine is the best option for them. Finally, in my opinion, although traditional medicines are common these days, they can be risky. This is because there is not enough research that has been done on these medicines. Simply put, people rely on them because of the recommendations of the older generation. People should consult doctors if they have any kind of sickness especially serious ailments, namely as cancer because, with medical checkups and blood tests, doctors can detect all the issues clearly and help the patients to be healthy. To sum up, though traditional medicines are popular at present, I believe that they can cause a lot of problems for people. If everyone relied on traditional medicine, their health conditions would get worse.