Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this developmente outweight the disadvantages?

As a result of the development of technology people's private life is less relevant year by year, due to the persistent monitoring by cell phone tracking. This essay will outline, how the possibility of tracking people down is convenient for parents and for the police in order to find criminals, but also how it leads to the lack of privacy. Whilst acknowledging that there are benefits, the essay will argue that the advantages do not outweigh the drawbacks On the one hand, having a tracking device has some utility such as the option to use digital maps for mobile applications. Moreover, in recent times smartphones, also e-watches have programs that allow other people to know your position, thus it could be powerful in some situations. For example, parents find this service useful to be aware of their son's location, therefore the same method could be used to track down lawbreakers by the police and reduce delinquency. On the other hand, however, this results in the absence of privacy especially as people are not always aware that they are monitored. In fact, besides tracking applications, websites are capable of knowing who you are and where you are due to algorithms built up thanks to so-called "cookies". Moreover, these data are exploited by multinational companies for their profit. Furthermore, the worst aspect is that people are indeed informed but not conscious that they are traced. In conclusion, taking all the points into consideration, I believe that preserving people's privacy is more crucial than all the comforts that technology gives us these days, thus the negative aspects definitely outweigh the positive.