“Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programmes regardless of their level of academic ability”. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is argued that every student should be able to be admitted to a university, regardless of their grades after high school. This essay disagrees with this statement since this might lead to a waste of resources and failure. First of all, admitting students irrespective of their academic ability may lower the overall quality of education. Since there is no bottom line for admission it is impossible to ensure every freshman has the necessary qualifications for each course, Consequently professors may need to adapt their teaching methods to accommodate a wide range of abilities, potentially slowing down the pace of instruction for more advanced classmates. Second, we have all heard the saying “Money doesn’t grow on trees”. Universities and colleges may face resource constraints, including classroom space, quality professors and funding. Furthermore, this may downgrade the university's status, students’ college experience and academic success, thus possibly compromising future success in the job market. Third and most important, universal admission undermines the principle of meritocracy, where individuals are rewarded based on their skills and merit. Moreover, academic performance should be a key factor in determining admission to higher education programs. Otherwise, the efforts students put on throughout high school will be wrongfully undermined, sending a message that there is no need to work hard since ultimately you will be able to attend the university you desire. However, access to higher education can be a pathway to economic mobility and a way to break the cycle of poverty. Thus, helping individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds improve their economic prospects. In conclusion, although many believe everyone should be admitted into university academic programs, irrespective of how they have performed academically in the past, this essay raised important points as to why this might not be the case. Despite stimulating economic mobility, the way it strains resources, deteriorates quality education and undermines meritocracy makes this incorrect.