Many people aspire to a balance between work and other parts of their lives, but few achieve it. What are the problems in trying to achieve this and how can these problems be overcome?

Working is an essential part of human life, however, sometimes it can be overwhelming and consumes a huge portion of our time a day. Thus, in this day and age, many people are craving a balance between their job and their private life, though only a few can achieve it. In the following essay, I'm going to discuss the problems of pursuing this state and the solutions to overcome such difficulties. First of all, many people fail to achieve work-life balance due to the huge number of tasks that they have to carry out. To put this in simple terms, because of the layoff wave, the number of staff in each and every company is reduced, leading to an increase in workloads for other employees. For example, instead of completing two main tasks a day, now employees are under pressure to do twice the work, so they have to bring files and documents home to complete their duties. Moreover, the competitive working environment is also one of many reasons behind this situation. This is due to the fact that individuals feel the need to finish their given tasks before their peers to show their productivity. Taking the weekend as an example, they could spend their weekends working instead of spending time with their friends and families. To tackle this issue, some effective measures could be employed. First and foremost, the authority could publicize some regulations that could benefit the health of workers. For instance, the government should legally restrict firms from forcing their staff to work overtime without getting paid. Last but not least, a healthy financial environment could indirectly help individuals achieve work-life balance. Simply put, this would create more jobs, and by doing so, the same amount of work could be done by a higher number of people, so they could spend time for themselves. In conclusion, most citizens fail to meet their target of reaching harmony in their jobs and personal lives because of the workloads they have to take care of and the competing environment. To solve this issue, the government and individuals alike should put health as the top priority, otherwise, the situation could get even worse.