The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only governments can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the rise in population and the polarization of people towards urban cities, there was a scarcity of houses in metropolises. To encounter this issue, some shortsighted people raised the argument that only the government can solve this problem.I'm of the opinion that people at an individual level and the government should work together to resolve this issue. There are many reasons to support this, such as mounting of population in metropolises from all part of the country, which can lead to overcrowding, traffic problems, pollution, crime, and the spread of diseases like cholera, malaria, etc; The government could take measures by imposing strict administrative checks on the real estate sector; additionally, they could incorporate proper drinking water, a sewage system, and water disposal. For example, the central government's scheme called Swach Bharath created awareness among people to keep their cities clean and disease free. It is quite evident that in metropolises there is a huge population of illegal immigrants from countries like Bangladesh and Nepal who try to create living spaces in public properties like bridges, road sides, railway stations, etc., which makes the situation even worse. Furthermore, from a micro level perspective, it is an individual's responsibility to pay off taxes on time so that the government will be able to provide better infrastructure. Next, illegal occupation of land has to be stopped, and individuals who own property should be willing to provide a part of the property to the government for the construction of roads and bridges. Finally, I think it is not only the responsibility of the government to reduce such social problems as housing scarcity in big cities; consequently, people at an individual level should also contribute to solving such issues. I opine that it should be a joint endeavour from both the people and government sides.