Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

With regards to environmental pollution, elites debate that the only practical measure to come up with this issue is for the government to enforce recycling by laws. I reckon this approach is effective, yet has pros and cons. The first and foremost is the advantages, legal support for recycling stimulates collaborations in society. All walks of life, who are putting the laws into practice, can turn to each other to become partners and share the job. For instance, A mechanic may turn to a truck driver to relocate his waste to recycling sites and in return, he repairs the other one's vehicle. As a result, both will enjoy saving money. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks, it is highly likely to provoke financial corruption among the public and the authorities. There are always bad actors in the community who find the laws do not fulfil their ambitions, therefore, they are willing to break the laws. They are highly likely to turn to the authorities, and in exchange for money ask them to bypass the regulation. For example, an individual who is already suffering from taxes, instead of investing hugely in his home facilities, spends money to persuade local authorities to ignore his waste. In conclusion, legal enforcement for recycling is beneficial for the country which brings about partnerships. However, this approach requires deliberate practice since it may lead to financial corruption.