Nowadays more and more people are using cellphones and computers to communicate, so they are losing the ability to communicate with each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In today's era, humankind is facing difficulties in in-person conversation due to the increased usage of smartphones and laptops for every type of communication. I strongly believe that the above statement is correct. Because of the rise in daily screen time over a decade, man-to-man discussions have been reduced. Over the period of time, people are feeling comfortable in chatting or talking over an electronic device. First of all, the world has seen a sudden spike in the use of mobile or computers to communicate during the COVID outbreak. A prolonged period of isolation changed many habits of people, and the way to discuss with each other became online as well as distant. Furthermore, individuals became used to texting on messengers or sending jokes and memes over various social media platforms. My friend Mr Patil, for instance, is my neighbour and he loves to share multiple thoughts and news over WhatsApp, but he is not too talkative when in person. Secondly, due to some interesting social media apps, the mobile time of every user has been increased to a large extent. Nowadays, though a group of people meets daily, many of them keep looking at their cellphones throughout the discussion. Consequently, the ability to face-to-face talk has shrunk in the past few years. For example, the Times article of June 2023 claimed, after a survey in the Downtown University, that 78% of the public are more comfortable chatting or taking over smartphones or computers than face-to-face discussions. To conclude, currently, we all are in an era where people have started being more relaxed in communicating through the internet than direct conversation. An increasing usage of smart devices is a vital reason behind this fall in talking abilities.