Some people argue that modern technologies such as computers and cellphones destroy people’ social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people contend that smart gadgets have ruined people ’s social life in this modern society. However, from my perspective, smart devices play a vital role in our daily lives. First off, advanced technologies provide diverse modes of communication for people, particularly, for disabled people and the previous generations, since they have brought striking convenience, people can have easy access to socialize with everyone without the restriction of time and location using text messages or video chat, therefore they can tighten bonds with friends and family members. Furthermore, some people are struggling with social phobia and are reluctant to reach out to others in the real world, online chatting would make them feel more comfortable. Additionally, smart gadgets can broaden people ’s social circle and expand their scope of knowledge, because people can socialize with others from diverse cultural backgrounds. For example, people can make friends online from different regions worldwide based on similar hobbies and share comments with each other. Through the process, they would deepen their perspective on cultural differences and acquire different opinions. It is true that cellphones and computers lessen the frequency of face-to-face communication among modern people and ignore the importance of chatting in the virtual world. However, they are not the main cause for this declining trend. The major reason is that people are busy with full-time jobs and there is not enough time available to have face-to-face communication. In conclusion, I think modern technologies play a vital role in people ’s social lives and their merits outweigh their demerits.