46.The manufacturing and use of cars damages the environment but their popularity is increasing. Why is this? How could this be controlled?

Across the globe, the automobile industry is booming despite its adverse influences on the environment. In this essay, I will explore some reasons behind this phenomenon and recommend some solutions to control the situation. To begin with, it is undeniable that cars continue to be manufactured because they are the most comfortable, popular and convenient means of transportation which are available to the most people. This is evident by the fact that there were about 1.5 billion vehicles worldwide in 2022. Furthermore, the automobile industry has made significant advancements in technology, making cars more appealing to customers. More specifically, the introduction of electric and hybrid cars has provided consumers with a more friendly environmental option although their availability and affordability are still limited compared to other traditional combustion engine models. In addition, the automobile sector is deeply integrated to the global economy, generating significant employment opportunities and contributing to economic growth. This creates an incentive for governments to support and promote this sector. However, due to the detrimental effects on the habitat, it is imperative to control the manufacturing and use of car. Obviously, governments play an important role in this process. Firstly, they can enact and enforce strict emission standards for cars. They can also impose taxes for high-emission cars while offering incentives for electric or fuel-efficient ones. For example, the Canadian provincial and federal government introduced a program named "The Incentive for Zero-Emission Vehicles " and tax write-offs for businesses, to make these types of cars more affordable, encouraging its citizens to adopt clean technology. Thanks to this program, the market share of zero-emission vehicles hit a record of 10.5% in the second quarter of 2023. Secondly, authorities should increase their investment in public transportation, making it a sustainable and viable alternative. If governments can provide a more reliable and convenient mode of transport, they can encourage their residents to choose this option, reducing reliance on private cars. In conclusion, the convenience of travelling by car and the economic significance of the automobile industry are two main factors contributing to the popularity of the manufacturing and use of cars in spite of the negative impacts on the environment. To mitigate this problem, governments can implement policies to encourage their residents to adopt fuel-efficient vehicles and engage in public transportation.