Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, individuals survive longer than in the past. Certain people are of the opinion that the older population creates more burden for the government. Although the maintenance of an ageing population needs a huge amount of money from the government for their survival, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because they help them nurture our society's new-born babies. The main drawback of this trend is that they require a huge sum of money for their survival from the government. This is to say that the geriatric population needs more money for their daily lifestyle in their homes; this amount comes from government funds, which have been collected from taxes on adult services. Therefore, this process creates economic pressure on the government. For example, Canada has the highest number of older citizens; their government spends 100 crores per year on their food, shelter, medicine, and clothing, which leads to a huge economic loss. However, I believe that the older population should have sufficient savings for their future survival and not depend on government funds. The main advantage of this trend is that the ageing population can help nurture the newborn baby in their society. To explain, nowadays couples are so busy with their tight professional lives that they do not have the time and skills to look after their newborn; therefore, they take help from their grandparents for their upbringing. Subsequently, grandparents teach their grandchildren the right manners, culture, and traditions. For example, in India, the majority of newlywed parents are taking guidance from their grandparents on how to take care of their newborn babies because they are busy at their offices. Therefore, in my opinion, I believe that the ageing population in society has more benefits for individuals; thus, the advantages outnumber the disadvantages. In conclusion, despite the disadvantage of more money required for their maintenance, I believe that the old generation brings more benefits to society as they take responsibility for upbringing new-born babies.