In some countries the quality of life in larger cities is declining. Why do you think this is happening? What measures can be taken to stop it?

The standard of living is dwindling in few countries. I believe it is because of the increased cost of living and pollution, this essay will look on to that and suggest possible solutions to tackle these issues to an extent. To embark on, the first and foremost reason for this problem is due to the expenses that is needed for meeting daily needs. To be more precise, the increased population is cities resulted in higher rent amount, which makes the house prices not affordable for person's with average salary. For instance, in the country side the rent for a three bed room house is 500 pounds whereas in the city it is 900 pounds for a home. with the same facilities. In addition, the urban area has had more pollution than the rural area which results from the significant increase in the number of vehicles. To illustrate this, the quality of air in the country side is purer than the air in urban areas, hence, the people is rural area may be more healthier than others in city. However, if the goverment implement laws to regulate the house rent with a margin line can make a difference in affordabilty of houses for the public. This can be done by informing the landloads and owners of building a standard rate by the authority. For example, for the same model houses, rather than owners wish, the government has to fix a rest. Also, in order to control the pollution, the authorities should encourage the public to use public transportation over the private one. This can reduce the pöllution to a certain limit. To recapitulate, the quality of life in city is decreasing because expenses, and pollution. However, rules by the government and also encouraging the public to use public mode of transportation may help to maintain a quality of life in urban areas.