Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sponsorship of sports by companies has become a prevalent practice in the world of sports. Some contend that it brings benefits to sports, whereas others view it as negative. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my opinion. On the one hand, proponents of sports sponsorship argue that this approach can improve the public's awareness of companies' images. As global sports competitions such as The Olympic Games and Football World Cup attract a large number of followers, financing these events can be a good way for businesses to introduce themselves to their customers. For example, consumers may develop a preference for Coca-Cola products and an intention to buy thanks a several social activities done by this company during its sponsorship of the Olympic Games. In addition, the involvement of businesses in sports allows athletes to become brand ambassadors and earn more money outside their main occupations. This in turn motivates them to keep training to maintain the world-class performance which entertains their fans. On the other hand, some people express their concerns about the problems associated with sports sponsorships. One of the most noticeable ones is that some sports teams and sports events endorse bad products or services which may cause negative impacts on customers. For instance, in the English Prime League, various firms specialized in gambling and alcoholic beverages pay money to have their band names and logos printed on players' kits. When young people are exposed to such advertisements, they may develop a positive association with these products and start using them. Secondly, the participation of businesses in sports sponsorship may cause unethical practices such as match-fixing. This is because when companies sponsor sports teams, they will want their teams to win at any price and they even buy out players of rival. This unethical practice can damage the meaning of sports. In conclusion, sports sponsorship has both positive and negative aspects, depending on how it is managed and regulated. While it is essential to maintain financial viability for sports and provide support to athletes, it is equally important to strike a balance and ensure that the integrity and value of sports are not compromised. To achieve this balance, organizers of sports events should have clear guidelines and ethical standards for sports sponsorship. Transparency, fair competition and the preservation of the essence of sports should be prioritized.