A recent newspaper article reports that a 14 year old boy, who seriously damaged his school, got a punishment to clean streets instead of being sent to the prison. Do you think young criminals should be sent to prison or should alternative forms of punishment be used?

it's reported that a 14-year-old boy has been punished since he made a serious detriments to his school. but he only needed to clean streets rather than being jailed. from my perspective, alternative forms of punishment should be tailored to the individual needs of young offenders. at the begining, community service can boost the criminal rate of juveniles. the young offenders have realized they will not have any negative consequences for their future even though they make big mistakes. more and more pupils imitate and act it out. prison may increase the likelihood of young offenders reoffending. secondly, it is not valid for young criminals understand the impact of theic actions, commmunity services are too light to inspire them. alternative forms of punishment can be more effective for young criminals to avoid punishment. in conclusion, more serious punishment should put into use, and to some extent, it can reduce the rate of young offenders.