Media coverage affects voting patterns in a nation. State the causes and its effects.

Media coverage plays a pivotal role in influencing public opinion on all kinds of matters related to films, education, technology and political views. The public's reaction based on news especially about government will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Media being the sword arm of democracy intends to spread the news to create awareness among a large group of audience, however, how much content is being covered to display on television is a concerning fact. To justify the statement, most of the prominent reporters are mere puppets of the political leaders, therefore, they command them to highlight only the good deeds before the election, to fetch a considerable number of votes. Such half-baked news is detrimental and persuades the general public to believe them to be honest. In contrast to mainstream media, despite the pressure from powerful people, some independent reporters make an effort to present credible news, thanks to growing social platforms like twitter, YouTube and Facebook. For instance, an old video of the political party was circulated that harassed a particular community for celebrating Christmas. People were furious by this behaviour and therefore in the future they were aware of who to cast a vote for. Hence, it is imperative to know that media being one of the modes to transfer information has two sides, one that favours the selected and the other that plays a significant role in shaping the society by showing truth. To conclude, content covered by media is significant because it creates an outlook among the masses about all important matters related to government. And partiality of conventional media to cover only the positive part about the lawmakers is dangerous because it can change the voting patterns, but, the exponential increase in social platforms has made it easier for independent journalists to present real news that further helps the citizens to determine about specific leaders.