Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people accept that art provides motivation and encourages people to do something meaningful in life whereas others argue that it hinders individuals from the reality of life. While I perceive that art plays a vital role in everyone’s life, I believe it is a distraction as well. This essay discusses both aspects and exemplifies those points. On the one hand, art is a way of expressing our emotions, culture, foresight, etc., and thus artwork helps people to relate to each other. It inspires people to find the meaning of life and show love and affection to each other. For instance, the Yin Yang symbol which is a great artwork symbolizes that there is good in every bad thing and vice-versa. It tells that the meaning of life is to spread love and accept each other without focusing on the odds in individuals since one can cannot live without another and thus encourages society to practice love and peace. On the other hand, others argue that art cannot provide them with a livelihood and thus it is a distraction from real- life problems. They believe that artwork is a luxurious item that cannot be afforded by everyone. They want to draw attention towards the problems that people are dealing with like poverty, diseases, war, etc., and artwork cannot help to resolve these issues and therefore it is just a hindrance. They advocate for education and health care systems. To conclude, while art is essential for depicting any societies’ cultural or heritage value and providing the meaning of life to individuals, there are other issues as well that can not be solved by just artwork. Therefore, some people consider it a distraction from real life problems.