In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that thier products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative developments?

According to the prompt, recently business companies tend to advertise more and more heterogenous products which set them apart from their counterparts. In my opinion, this is mostly a positive development for two reasons. However, there is one drawback that will be discussed. First of all, advertising products that look different from their competitors is a good sign because this leads to a more diverse category of items which consumers can choose from. For example, Alberto, a soap company in Bangladesh, nowadays manufactures 10 different categories of soaps, and each one is targeted for a specific set of groups, hence this gives customers a large set of collections to select from. In addition, an individual from India can have clothing that is specifically designed to fulfil his desire. This is clearly a positive trend because product diversity leads to user satisfaction which in turn boosts the economy of a country having spent more money in the market. Secondly, in order to increase diversity in manufactured products, employees have to discover something noble, thus this will facilitate creativity in a company. Notwithstanding, obsession with showing product diversity to stay in the competition has one disadvantage: rivalry among colleagues. For instance, Pranoto, which is a paper manufacturing company in China, urges their employees to propose an ingenious method for making toilet paper, that results in an intense competitive environment within the company. Consequently, this unfriendly environment is one of the root causes of severe mental health problems, e.g., depression, insecurity, and inferiority complexity, which is a common phenomenon observed in recent years. In conclusion, advertising more and more distinct items is primarily a positive thing for the two reasons outlined above. Nevertheless, it is not a perfect perspective and mental health problem is a pressing issue that we need to deal with.