Some people think that teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. Others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject they are best at or they are most interested in. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The prompt presents a contentious view, where some believe in learning only the subject-specific knowledge, while others hold the belief in teaching all the topics to the children. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the latter perspective for two reasons. However, there is one drawback that will be discussed. First of all, learning a diverse set of subjects is a good sign because this allows teenagers to acquire a more diverse set of knowledge. For example, a student in India, has to learn a long spectrum of topics including science, sociology and arts. In addition, it is mandatory for every student to obtain a minimum mark in order to pass an exam. This is clearly a positive trend because each subject contributes to broader students' outlook and helps them to make correct decisions in every aspect of life. Secondly, having knowledge of a vast set of subjects facilitates the amalgamation of different ideas in order to build a theory in a specific domain, which may be a major milestone for that topic. Notwithstanding, compelling teenagers to learn every subject has one disadvantage: excessive academic pressure. For instance, Chinese students have to go through intense competition in schools since they have to study 20 various categories of subjects in middle schools which results in self-isolation. Consequently, this self-isolation from the real world is the root cause of severe mental health problems, e.g., depression, insecurity, and inferiority complexity, which is a common phenomenon observed in recent years. In conclusion, giving attention to a larger spectrum of subjects is primarily a positive thing for the two reasons outlined above. Nevertheless, it is not a perfect perspective and mental health problem is a pressing issue that we need to deal with.