Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the goverment, while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While it is often thought that the government should be accountable for public health, other people believe that people ought to be responsible for their health. In my opinion, I consider that the governments in every country have to take responsibility for the well-being of their citizens. On the one hand, according to some, the government plays an essential role in ensuring that everyone is healthy because a country cannot progress without healthy societies. In other words, when the public is healthy, they can help the country to develop because they can share their knowledge in many fields, such as education and health. Furthermore, medical expenses can be extremely high and some cannot afford them. In this case, it is important for the government to help its citizens. For instance, in the UK, although the inflation rate is high, people still can get the best medical treatment thanks to free health care. Hence, people there do not need to worry about their health issues. On the other hand, some individuals may claim that in order to stay healthy, people should be responsible for their own health. One reason why people are sick is that they do not have a healthy diet. That is to say, they consume foods which are high in calories and fats, and because of that, they start gaining weight. For example, the rate of obesity in America keeps on increasing every year because people do not care about what they consume. Therefore, in order to be healthy, people have to change their diet. Another reason is that people these days do not have an active lifestyle. When they lead a sedentary lifestyle, they will not be able to burn calories and eventually, they become overweight. As a result, people should be active physically in order to have a healthy body. To sum up, though people may vary in their opinions, I think that without the government's help, people will not be able to have a healthy life. If every government in every nation were responsible for their citizens' health, the number of sick people would reduce