Nowadays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or oragnisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, some people prefer to have their own work rather than being employees who work for a company. In this essay, some related reason why this phenomenon occurs is argued. Also, some cons of self-employment are presented. To begin with, many people tend to land a proper job when applying after graduation. However, after finding a job, some injustices in the workplace including gender inequality matters and pay gaps trigger the mindset of working for oneself. Take, for example facing an individual whose lack of knowledge and maturity is obvious in his/her decisions. Suppose that such a superior manager gains three times as much money as a skilled specialist. This is the turning point when the specialist feels demotivated to pursue the career path and try to find another job. If such a operation applicant experiences this,again and again, the notion of being self-employed or owning a business establishment comes into her/his mind. On the other hand, some women feel that they cannot rise through the rank in a macho subculture, and this therefore forces them to change their careers to build their own businesses. However, rarely does advancement in own career proceed without any struggle. In this regard, making a profitable career or keeping a trade alive requires not only adequate skills but also being a step ahead of competitors and counterparts. Not paying proper attention to the basics of starting a profession, some newly established businesses and start-ups failed before celebrating even the first year of launch due to bankruptcy. This may be owing to a lack of financial support and a business plan. In terms of psychological aspects, the economic fluctuations may dramatically influence the small-size field and all the stress accumulated by risks and pressure resulting in starting a new business can negatively impact the founders so it will make it difficult to wind down even after a considerable while. To conclude, although self-employment may free individuals from some feelings of being unfairly compensated or gender inequality conditions, the founders should shoulder the side effects such as financial risks of self-employment and mental pressures.