Virtual reality be used as a tool for therapeutic interventions and mental health treatments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of technology has brought a significant transformation to medical treatment notably for applying virtual reality as a media for therapeutic interventions and mental health remedies. Although human connections help assist in mental healthcare, it seems to me that applying sophisticated technology to medical treatment is more applicable due to flexibility. On the one hand, There is no doubt that the presence of healthcare practitioners represents social support for patients, in which empathy and physical touch from professional therapists are the main keys in building the self-confidence of mental health sufferers. This medical method, nevertheless, is highly costly. In Indonesia, for instance, the average cost of mental health therapy by counselors is Rp 500.000 to Rp. 750.000 per session, whereby this treatment needs a long process. Consequently, more and more patients face difficulty in getting treatment due to high expenses. On the other hand, developing powerful technology such as virtual reality has transformed the provision of mental healthcare. At any time or anywhere, individuals can access therapeutic services from their smartphones. This means that most patients do not need to make appointments if their intense anxiety comes. Virtual reality treatment, for instance, has been applied by the United States Military for ex-soldiers who have been diagnosed with Post-traumatic Stress Disorder during combat. it is found that this treatment can be effective in reducing 20% of 1,500 PTSD active cases. By way of conclusion, despite the direct relationship between professionals and patients helping maintain the emotional health of patients, I am still convinced that using a newly developed technology in medical treatment gives more convenience to individuals.