Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Progress in internet communication is changing our social style significantly and how we keep in touch with friends and family. Today, some people argue that the Internet is convenient but less valuable than face-to-face conversations. I agree with this statement. On the one hand, relationships are something that cannot be replaced by online communications, the feeling, the tone, and the expressions are something that cannot be copied from the internet conversation. Especially human beings are extremely sensitive creatures, we cannot survive alone and always desire the company of friends and family. For instance, people who have face-to-face conversations with friends give people a stress relief method, that can help people reduce the sense of stress and pressure. These indicate that having interaction can generate some positive effects. On the other hand, the internet occupies a large proportion of modern society, which means that face-to-face communication is no longer the common way for people to keep in touch with others. Also, the internet can create tons of problems and causes misunderstanding. For example, one of the studies about friendship relationships from the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), showed that people are more likely to feel emotion and voice rather than send the text on the internet, instead of the text or emoji, which can also easily create a wrong image; however, over 67% people agree that it is more easily to maintain their friendships by face-to-face communicate. As a result, it proved that real-life interaction is irreplaceable. In summary, the internet has a huge impact on our daily life and has changed the way we meet with people. However, maintaining friendships will not be changed by those advanced technologies because it is more important to feel the emotions and interactions in our life.