It is recommended that traditional market be phased out and replaced by supermarket and e-commerce. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is widely considered that local markets are undergoing a transformation, with the emergence of retail chains and online shopping. However, I strongly disagree with this perspective and firmly believe that wet markets bring about more beneficial impacts on consumers' lives. To begin with, one of the main reasons why I vehemently oppose this viewpoint is that traditional marketplaces play a vital role in supporting area economies. They generally provide a platform for independent vendors, such as local producers and farmers, to sell their products directly to their customers. For instance, Vietnamese farmers tend to harvest their home-grown vegetables, such as potatoes, at midnight and sell them at the nearest bazaar in the early morning to earn income. This positively contributes to the residents' earnings and effectively enhances traditional livelihoods. Furthermore, I am strongly convinced that local markets foster human connections and offer personalized services. Sellers in these places often cater for the specific needs of shoppers. To illustrate, in Vietnam, neighbours frequently buy first and pay later at their resident markets, where they can request suppliers to promptly keep a record of all their monthly orders and make payments at the end of the month. This practice not only actively encourages interactions between sellers and buyers but also improves customer satisfaction. In conclusion, the transition from bazaars to grocery stores and one-click purchase applications is not favourable, as wet marketplaces significantly contribute to the development of locals' income and also create individualized solutions and face-to-face communication opportunities in society.