Space exploration cost tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In this digitally advanced world, many countries are spending millions on space research, and this amount mostly belongs to the treasury of the country which consists of the money earned from taxes. Although these achievements in astrophysics help to decode the unsolved questions of stars and the galaxy, but certainly, do not solve any issue related to the citizens. On the one hand, space exploration is an important milestone in the development journey of any country in the world. Furthermore, a successful mission from the research organisation definitely plays a vital role in solving the mystery of the universe. Additionally, such explorations become the pride for the nation that gets appreciated everywhere. The Mangal Mission of India, for instance, was the only journey which was achieved successfully in the first attempt, and this was welcomed by all countries On the other hand, many regions of the globe need to focus on their internal problems on priority but the regimes of such areas are interested in investing a big portion of their budget in exploring the sky. However, there is zero beneficial impact on the nation's development after launching any rocket into space. Some governments are hungry for respect from the world. Consequently, the hard-earned money of citizens is getting wasted on such useless experiments. For example, many protests on a large scale were seen when Russia launched their 25th moon mission in July 2023 because billions of rubles were being used there during wartime. To conclude, knowing the unsolved part of the universe is a widely acceptable as well as respectful achievement for the country. On the contrary, such a welcomed result is not going to improve anything for the native population of that nation.