In some cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays, lot of traffic is causing difficulty in few cities and towns in the world. This essay will examine the main problems of how this traffic is affecting people in the cities and town and we will discuss the possible solutions to this problem. The two main problems caused by traffic are raise in private vehicles and pollution. One is that cars have become more affordable for the average consumers, and they are no longer a luxury items, consequently people are using cars to go to their workplace. For example, according to the statistics it takes approximately two to three hours to reach their workspace in metropolis cities such as Bangalore, Mumbai and Delhi. Furthermore, in some cities, like Manila, the public transport facilities are poorly managed therefore the people choose to drive their own vehicles. These two reasons with poor traffic management in many cities causes unmanageable traffic jams. However, there are several things that the government could do to reduce the problem. Firstly, the state government should provide decent, safe and clean public transportation amenities, therefore more people would use public transport, instead of personal cars. Secondly, government should develop new industries and commercial areas in the outskirts of the city. It is hoped that some people will move to these areas and would reduce the density problem. In conclusion, cities and towns all over the world are facing serious traffic problem these days. It is mainly due to of the population growth, density and poor public transportation facility. But there are several things that the government could do to address the problem, such as improving the public transports, developing new areas.