Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, some people believe that living in a city where you have to speak a language other than your mother tongue, can be challenging and cause both social and practical problems. Personally, I agree with the statement to some extent and I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs. To begin with, these days there are many people who are immigrating to different countries due to a variety of different reasons such as education, work, weather and so on. The immigrants should be aware of the challenges they will face in the new country, and in my viewpoint, the major one will be the language part. Thus, they should prepare and learn the new language before they go to live in the new country, because, it will have negative effects on your mental health if you don't know how to speak and communicate with others. For instance, my mother immigrated to Canada when she was 40 years old and because she didn't know how to speak English she stayed home for a long period and it caused her to become depressed and anxious. On the other hand, if humans immigrate at an early age, it will be easier for them to learn a new language. They are more confident and they adapt to the new place much easier. For instance, my sister came to Canada at the age of 11. She had to go to a French school as we came to Montreal. She didn't know French until she started school and she was able to learn it completely in less than a year, while it was harder for me and my parents. As a result, the younger you are, the easier it will be to learn a new language. In conclusion, I believe that the way you get affected by the new language, depends on your age and it is better to learn the language of the country you want to move to, as early as possible.