In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In modern society, highly developed technology has made online information easily accessible. It is possible for us to look up various news online, even without paying. However, it is disagreed that online information will fully replace printed publications. The potential practical harm of staring at screens and the distinct reading experience from a paper-printed book will explain my perspective. The internet undeniably provides a massive amount of information for people nowadays. We can find answers to nearly everything online, from the daily question of whether a diner is fine enough to in-depth political issues, even real-time news that keeps us updated on situations worldwide. Undoubtedly, the internet has been an efficient helper in offering various data. However, using the internet also brings disadvantages such as the potential harm to our eyesight and even worse, the dropping of time in our concentration. Research has shown that as short videos from online media go viral, the period of time people can stay focused has been dropping, due to the fact that people are accustomed to short videos. On the other hand, printed publication holds an extraordinary position. The texture of different quality of paper and the scent of inks make the experience vary from reading every single book. Publications no longer stand for merely distributing information but for an engagement indulging in the plot. It brings the magnificent experience we can never attain by reading online. Not to mention unique books also represent invaluable memories. In conclusion, the internet has its own demerits which means printed publications will not be fully replaced. On top of that, the symbolic meaning of books has earned a group of followers cherishing them. It is also beneficial for us to access information in various ways depending on different types of news and personal preference.