In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There have been competing views on whether local people are shifting to urban areas, resulting in a reduction of the population in rural areas. In my opinion, this implies a negative impact on the economy of a country. Countryside people are relocating to cities to improve their way of life. As villages cannot provide them with facilities such as good job opportunities and a better education system, people are moving towards cities. If more people leave the countryside, it will affect the small local businesses because there will be fewer people to help them run. Therefore, this will force people to shut down their businesses and find something else in order to survive. Many old businesses that run from generation to generation have been lost in this way. For instance, a special basket made from coconut leaves used to be made by some rural people in Bangladesh, which is now being lost because they lost their demand. People who used to make it now move to cities to search for new jobs for their livelihood. Those on the other side of the statement say that there are some positive aspects as well. People who move to cities can have better education, and some can be self-employed in the future, which will help the economy grow. Moreover, their children can get a higher education and serve the nation or go back to the village to use their education and productivity to do something for the people there. In conclusion, while those who live in the countryside are moving to cities in many countries around the world, which can be stopped by creating new opportunities for them there, I believe it is best to keep the balance between village and city.