Many people believe that social networking websites such as FB and Instagram have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that sophisticated technology, such as FB and Instagram provides a significant amount of drawbacks not only to the individuals but also to the whole community. Hence, I completely agree with this statement because these websites provide a huge number of opportunities to forge unnecessary relationships and addiction to social platforms leads to both physical and mental issues. Thus, in this essay, I will explore why I agree with this view. First of all, by connecting with the online network, people make a multitude of relationships with persons who have never met face-to-face and people who belong to various types of cultures. Therefore, they may create inappropriate connections with individuals since they do not realize the real conditions of them. Since they believe their online friends, they may tend to imitate them. Consequently, they may prey to some crimes such as juvenile delinquencies, cyber crimes, drug trafficking, and burglaries. For example, a survey carried out in Sri Lanka, a vast amount of schoolchildren engage in cyber crimes and juvenile delinquencies since they build unnecessary companionships with inappropriate social groups through the Internet. Secondly, since addiction to cyberspace, a lot of users confront a significant physical and mental predicament. A multitude of young populations always surfing social platforms in front of cutting-edge technological devices such as laptops and smartphones, they are suffering from numerous physical disorders such as obesity and vision impairments. In addition, as they desire to browse the internet, they always watch unnecessary videos, vulgarities, and pictures of women who scantily dress. As a consequence, they may be isolated from the society and their families. Therefore, they may suffer some psychological illnesses such as anxiety, depression, and even suicidality. For instance, the suicide rate in the world has been increasing significantly recently, due to using social network sites inappropriately. In conclusion, since state-of-the-art technology, social platforms offer a considerable amount of negative consequences to the public. Hence, I would argue that online network sites are not paramount for the community because they support to forging of wrong connections and lead to numerous physical and psychological problems for the people who overuse them.