Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whiles some individuals think that permitting young ones to make their own preferences on their day to day issues (like meals, clothing and pleasure) there is a possibility of this resulting in a community of persons who only think about their personal desires whereas others also opine that, it is essential for kids to decide on agendas that relates to them. I believe it is good to allow teenagers to make their own choices that pertains to them and the following ensuing paragraphs will discuss both instances. On the one hand, giving children the liberty to decide on what they want to eat, wear and the kind of entertainment they want to engage in makes them selfish and unaccountable for their actions. This youngsters will feel superior over their peers as they grow and would not like to take advices or counsel from others since they have always had the sole privilege to choose their choices without interference. For instance, in a family where these kind of children are raised, parents would have to work extra hard to provide for the kids because the young ones decide on what they want and not what the family can afford. On the other hand, it is also argued by some people that children should be permitted to take stances only matters that concern them which I concur with. When young children take choices on matters such as their future careers, education etc they can be guided by their parents, elder siblings, family, teachers and significant others and this will make the children accountable, responsible and take mentorship which will in the long run benefit themselves, the society and the world at large. For example Mr. Sefa Kayi said he was mentored by his mother when he decided to take up a future career in Journalism and she helped nurture his passion hence his success and impact in the world of Broadcasting and Journalism. To conclude, as it is agreed by some persons that young individuals should be given the mandate to decide on their preferences on their daily matters, other also suggests they should be allowed to only take decisions relating to them which I share in that opinion, will save our community of greedy individuals and make our young adults have a sense of responsibility and accountability.