In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that health issues are caused by high consumption of fast food. Hence, the governments should increase the tax on this food. I disagree with this suggestion because the high tax on food will increase the burden on low-income class and will not induce awareness of the problem among the public. Rising the tariff on this type of food will increase the financial burden on the low socioeconomic people. They often work for long hours and have a high workload. Hence, they have no energy and time left to prepare lunch or dinner when they get back home. Fast food is their preference to solve their meal needs as it is fast and cheap. For example, factory workers work eight or ten hours daily and are given only a 30-minute break for their lunch. They would grab lunch at McDonald’s or buy dinner on the way home. This allows them to go back to work soon or have more resting time at the end of the day. However, the high tax makes the food not affordable for this class. They would need to prepare and cook their meal after an exhausting day. Besides that, a high tax on food does not lead to the awareness of the disbenefit of this convenient food. Education plays an essential role in this alertness. The public should be educated about high sugar, salt and oil that would result in health conditions after long-term consumption. Healthy food should be promoted. For instance, healthy campaigns can be organised in schools or universities to introduce nutritious foods. Sharing videos on social media promotes organic food. In conclusion, the government's increase in levy is not the best solution for this issue because it would negatively affect low-income people. Nonetheless, education would be a better way to solve this problem.