Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Some people consider that if children make their own decisions about everyday matters, society will be full of selfish individuals. However, some suggest that it is imperative to let children opt for matters that are related to them. I would stand with the latter one since self-dependence is of paramount importance throughout our lives. Undeniably, empowering children with the freedom to choose what they want in daily life may lead them to become arrogant adults in the future. It will have a high chance that they take all for granted and turn out to be deeply reluctant to follow instrumental advice that is not lined with their wishes. Furthermore, kids that are still at a young age are not equipped with enough maturity and judgment abilities, so their choices may result in bad consequences and negatively affect adulthood. On the other hand, I believe that there are some beneficial effects of permitting children to make their own decisions. The first point is that it is necessary to hone their decision-making skills since children that lack of those skills would cause problematic situations. A case in point is that when they turn into adults, they have to enter the workforce and even become leaders of firms. Additionally, if they can learn from the experiences of failed choices, they will become more responsible and independent. In conclusion, although children may get an opportunity to develop the habit of selfishness or choose the wrong alternative, I believe that the pros of letting children make their own choices overshadow the cons.