Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Recently, more and more communities facing health problems have been seeking alternative medicines and avenues rather than visiting professionals like doctors. This phenomenon occurred to certain people due to the lack of scientific knowledge and wealth. From my point of view, this attitude is a portrayal of negative trends due to some detrimental impacts such as threatening malpractices. To begin with, I will jot down two strong reasons for the occurrence of the matter. Firstly, many people, predominantly those who fall in the lower-income group, are not thoroughly exposed to the scientific foundation and, hence, are easily trapped in alternative medication. For instance, communities living in the slum area in my country believe in the efficacies of certain crops to cure some critical illnesses. In addition, monetary factor also plays a monumental role in this case, leaving those with weak financial power unable to afford the proper healthcare. Consequently, this phenomenon is a lagging development because of some demerits. Seeking medication from non-accredited sources instead of relying on credible doctors can worsen the sickness and even cause death. For example, in Indonesia, the rate of mortality contributed by the fake clinics' malpractices is considerably high with 6% shares. Even if someone can't fully trust his regular doctor, it is better to look for additional validation from another professional, from the more advanced country if possible, prior to depending on alternative treatments. In summary, the growing reliance on non-medical treatments to cure illness is caused by the lack of education and financial power. I firmly opine that this behaviour is a negative regression owing to the inferiorities of possible misconduct treatments. At the end of the day, the government should give a proper education and make an affordable health insurance program for its society.