Many young people today know more about international pop and movie stars than about famous people in the history in their country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people's intesert in famous people in the history of their country?

The acceleration of economic globalization and the development of mass media have significantly altered the way we live. As a result, youngsters are now growing more and more attracted to pop culture instead of the history of their own country. This essay will explain the reasons for this and give a solution. The stark contrast in young people's knowledge between international pop stars and historic and cultural celebrites celebrity lies in these factors. First and foremost, there is almost unlimited media content regarding pop stars and entertainment while the accessibility of resources introducing scientists and politicians is comparatively poor. Equally importantly, teenagers and young adults, especially those born after the millennuim, have grown up step by step with the development of social media, making the feel a natural familiarity with such subjects. In addition, they are too young and immature to realize the importance of how the country was built by their ancestors and pioneers, let alone pursue a sense of belonging to their own culture. To tackle this problem, we have to raise young people's interest and passion for the past of their country rather than simply forbid them to watch super star movies. The best way is to combine the advantages of both sides. For instance, aimed to improve pupils' knowledge of ancient Chinese heroes, a TV series called "The Stories of Chinese Heroes" is shooted and launched in 2005, starring the most popular stars at the time, which then broke the record of audience ratings that year and has highly increased primary school students' score in history tests. Except for TV series, other cultural products such as films, animations, games and toys about historic celebrities are also ideal options. In conclusion, the reasons for the gap in the young ones' knowledge between pop stars and famous people in the past are threefold: differences in content accessibility, familiarity and consciousness of the significance of history. Therefore, the best choice to put into practice is to raise their interest and love for the history and culture of their country by creating better cultural products.