Nowadays, many parents let their children start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In today’s world, the fact that children start using computers from an early age has become increasingly popular in recent years. Although this can have certain upsides, I personally think that the downsides are more considerable. On the one hand, there are some benefits when children are allowed to use computers at an early age. The first advantage is that computers can be an effective tool to look for information. Besides, computers can help children analyze and solve problems more efficiently. For example, if they forget some of their knowledge when at home, they can use search engines to find the information they need. The second advantage is that the ability to use computers may bring children career opportunities in the future. This is mainly because computer skills are a requirement in many jobs today. Therefore, being able to use computers will be a strong point for children. On the other hand, I personally believe that the drawbacks of children using computers early are more significant. One of the biggest negative impacts of using computers early is that they may lead to poor social skills. The main reason is that many children spend most of their time playing video games so they rarely communicate with children of the same age or classmates. As a result, children can suffer from some social disorders such as autism and depression. Another negative impact is the risk coming from social networks. The main reason is that when children access websites without parental supervision, they may see negative behavior and images. For instance, there are many unhealthy advertising videos spread on websites such as Google, which may attract children ’s curiosity. In conclusion, while there are certain merits of children using computers early regarding the easy access to information and future career opportunities, it is my firm belief that the demerits in terms of poor social skills and the risk coming from social networks are weightier.