Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. To what extent do yo agree or disagree with these statements?

Social media is a huge business today and many feel it has changed the world for the better. Others feel the opposite and worry that we do not connect with people in a good way. I personally feel that social media is, on the whole, a good thing as it has improved the way we communicate. Initially, social media sites such as Facebook or Twitter are a medium for people to talk and interact with each other across the world. The existence of social media has exposed many different cultures and communities that we might never be able to find within our physical range. The world is an open book due to social media platforms. It can affect the way we communicate and form relationships. Interacting with people we find online is also one of the ways we can learn to form personal relationships. For instance, people can find online friends based on similar interests and then they can create a small community and they can even find partners online. However, for people who can not handle social media, communicating in one can lead to negative impacts. This scenario is related to a crime situation, in which kids can interact with unknown people they found on social media sites. Moreover, many social media platforms collect users’ personal data, often without their consent. This then potentially leads to cyberbullying, doxing, and so on. In conclusion, communication in the social media space is a double-edged sword condition. There could be potential problems that are caused by social media, but there are also opportunities and advantages we can receive if we are well informed and aware in communicating with it.